top of page
Search
  • Kim Owens

Meet Your EA Board Members: Patty Duffy, Part-Time Faculty Representative


You may remember that in March, we had to say good-bye to Mari Yancho, longtime PT faculty rep to the MCCEA, as she was hired as a full-time ACSS. We're happy to welcome Patty Duffy, English faculty, as our new PT rep. We sat down with Patty to learn a little more about why the union is so important to her.

Educational Background:

BA and MA in English Composition, MSU.

Why did you choose MCC?

When I retired from Davison Public Schools, I wasn't ready to retire from teaching.

My son chose Mott for his first year of college (John is now a high school English teacher and union rep in Berkeley, MI) and I was impressed that his Mott professors stayed connected with him throughout his undergraduate experience at MSU, offering advice and even giving him books.

I wanted to provide that kind of teacher-student relationship.

You are a Part-Time Faculty Rep. Can you tell us a little bit about what your role on the EA board is?

The MCCEA is not my first experience as a union representative—I served as MEA delegate for Davison back when I was still teaching there. The Part-Time Faculty Rep. Position is a new experience and I am focused on addressing the particular needs of our PT/ADJ faculty. Along with Paul Jordan, my fellow Part -Time Rep, I look forward to continue bringing awareness of our issues to the board.

Why is the faculty union important to you?

In my delegate capacity for Davison, I listened to many instructors from around the country talk about ways unions have contributed to their jobs and their students' educational experiences. "A strong union means a strong middle class" is not just a slogan. Some of our part-time adjunct instructors work at non-union colleges as well as Mott, and there is a clear difference in working conditions.

On a more personal level, when I was bumped out of a class just days before the beginning of a recent term, the MCCEA intervened because some key contractual issues were involved. My class was reinstated. To say I was relieved is an understatement. Without the MCCEA, my class would have been lost to me.

What’s your answer to those who say educators aren’t laborers, so labor unions have no place in education?

We may not be making car parts, but we are certainly laborers who need a voice. We can't allow corporate sponsored politicians to decide our working conditions for us. When our state legislature vilifies teachers, we know they're really trying to weaken our voice, our union. With the issues Michigan schools face today and our state legislature's reluctance to work with us, union strength has a more important place in education now than ever.

Who’s someone you really admire and respect?

President Obama has brought us through the worst economic downturn since the Great Depression, with our unemployment rate now the lowest it's been since 2008. He encourages what is best in us and leads with reason, not fear mongering. Besides, I admire Obama's America's College Promise - two years of free community college for everyone! Imagine how this could help our non-traditional students.

What book (or books) are you currently reading?

I recently finished Ta-Nehisi Coates' book Between the World and Me. In this heartfelt letter to his son, Coates portrays the challenges of growing up in Baltimore's streets and schools with probing, journalistic clarity. I'm sure excerpts will find their way into my class assignments this fall.

What do you like to do to relax?

Every summer my guy and I like checking out new cycling paths around Michigan. We've cycled 21 different paths so far.

 


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page