top of page
Search
  • Sandra Berry, Part-Time Faculty Member, FASS

40 Years of Union Membership: A PT Faculty Member Looks Back


I was fresh out of college in the early 1970’s and undertook my first teaching job at a rural high school in southeast Michigan. My beginning salary was $7000/year.

The school district was mid-sized with a class-C high school, a middle school, and 2 elementary schools. We had a strong, district-wide MEA teachers’ union and I became involved in the union leadership during my second year there.

By my third year of teaching, I was elected as the negotiator of the high school, at the ripe old age of 23.

During this time period, all the district’s teachers belonged to the union and we had regular meetings that everyone attended; there was tremendous solidarity and camaraderie.

The more experienced union officers had been involved in contractual negotiations for many years and were highly respected. I felt honored to join the team.

All of the contract negotiations took place during the summer and most of us gave up a large part of those vacation months during negotiating years. I recall meeting with the administration and school board reps several times each week, often having heated discussions late into the evening. Main negotiating topics during that time were decent salaries, sick days and better health coverage, including basic prescription coverage.

During my second term on the team, we negotiated our first ever dental coverage. It was such a coup for us! I’ll never forget how excited we all were to have achieved that milestone, it seemed unbelievable.

Although I was not involved in a strike or picket during these years, many strikes were taking place in Philadelphia, Wisconsin, Michigan, and Chicago. (However, I was involved on a picket line during the late 1990’s, in another Michigan school district).

Throughout those early years we achieved tremendous gains; it was a progressive time for the teachers’ unions. I now consider that decade to be pivotal in the development of the teaching profession.

The main difference I see between earlier unions and present-day unions is the level of political involvement. Early on, the unions were basically non-partisan, but by the time the 1990’s rolled around, unions were busy with lobbying and partisanship. I don’t see that as a negative change, just a necessary evolutionary change due to the times we live in. [Ed note: Labor unions tended to regard support for organized labor from both political parties as a “given” until the 1980’s.]

In those earlier days, we were more driven, and teachers were more cohesive and willing to risk their jobs. I know that I was willing to walk…but I was very young too. Most of my colleagues with families were willing to walk too. I think of the Detroit teachers now and the sickouts. They are definitely going out on a limb. I give them tremendous credit!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page